America’s Natural Gas Utilities: Investing in Our Energy Future

Houston, TX – The largest global gas event of the year will leave a legacy for generations. The American Gas Association (AGA) announced today that a portion of the proceeds from the 17th International Conference and Exhibition on Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG 17), taking place this week, will be directed towards scholarships for students interested in pursuing a career in the natural gas industry.

“Natural gas is the foundation fuel for a clean and secure energy future and an economic revitalization for our country. We are making an investment in helping to develop a skilled workforce capable of maintaining the 21st century technology that transports and utilizes this clean energy source serving the needs of more than 177 million Americans,” said Dave McCurdy, President and CEO of the American Gas Association. “Our commitment will help ensure the continued vitality of the American workforce and solidify the legacy of this transformation in American energy.”

The AGA Scholarship program, which will provide $1 million in funding for students focused on fields related to energy, was unveiled at a press conference at LNG 17 in Houston, TX where strategic and commercial leaders and technical experts are participating in four days of sessions, workshops and tours of world-leading LNG facilities. McCurdy was joined by David Carroll, President of the Gas Technology Institute, David McClanahan, President and CEO of CenterPoint Energy and Eloise Dunn Stuhr, Vice President and Vice Chancellor for University Advancement with the University of Houston and UH System.

Students seeking a career in trade jobs that are in high demand in the natural gas industry such as HVAC, Welding, Pipefitters, Mechanical/Petroleum/Chemical Engineering, Engineering Technologies/Technicians, and specific natural gas programs such as Gas Utility Construction and Service will be eligible.  It is anticipated that over 200 students will receive scholarships over the next five years.

The following schools have been selected to participate:

  • Baton Rouge Community College; Baton Rouge, LA
  • Bishop State Community College; Mobile, AL
  • Bismarck State College; Bismarck ND
  • California State Polytechnic University, Pomona; Pomona, CA
  • Central Piedmont Community College; Charlotte, NC
  • City Colleges of Chicago; Chicago, IL
  • Clackamas Community College; Oregon City, OR
  • Colorado School of Mines; Golden, CO
  • Erie Community College; Buffalo, NY
  • Gwinnett Technical College; Lawrenceville, GA
  • International School of Hydrocarbon Measurement; Norman, OK
  • Ivy Tech Community College; Terre Haute, IN
  • Kilgore College; Kilgore, TX
  • Lamar Institute of Technology (LIT); Beaumont, TX
  • Los Angeles Trade–Technical College; Los Angeles, CA
  • Marshalltown Community College; Marshalltown, IA
  • Monroe Community College; Rochester, NY
  • Northeast Iowa Community College; Calmar, IA
  • Northeast Wisconsin Technical College; Green Bay, WI
  • Northern Virginia Community College; Annandale, VA
  • Pennsylvania College of Technology; Williamsport, PA
  • Salt Lake Community College; Salt Lake City, UT
  • Stevens Institute of Technology; Hoboken, NJ
  • University of Houston, Houston; TX
  • West Virginia University; Morgantown, WV
  • Westmoreland County Community College; Youngwood, PA